Leading Forward

Women Winning’s annual year-end event, Leading Forward, is back and we are mythbusting “electability” narratives ahead of 2020!

Women win elections at the same rates as men, yet every day we hear “I like her, but I’m not sure she can win” … “I don’t know if she can beat him” … “I think she’s great, but we just need to win.”

To shatter the highest, hardest glass ceilings, we must shatter these false narratives. Join Women Winning and these powerhouse leaders to bust myths, celebrate pro-choice women’s leadership, and kick off 2020!

Meet the powerhouse leaders joining us to bust electability myths!

Jess McIntosh, CNN & MSNBC Commentator
Jess McIntosh is a political strategist, regular CNN and MSNBC Commentator, former Director of Communications Outreach for Hillary for America, and former Communications Director at EMILY’s List. Jess is also co-host of the award-winning SiriusXM radio show Signal Boost. She was named one of Marie Claire’s 50 Most Influential Women.

Jana Shortal, Kare 11 Anchor
Jana Shortal is an Emmy Award-winning reporter and co-anchor of KARE 11’s “Breaking the News”. She has received national recognition for challenging local television and media norms, specifically around gender.

Jearlyn Steele, WCCO Radio Host
Jearlyn Steele is a reporter for Twin Cities Public Television’s “Almanac” and the host of “Steele Talkin’” on WCCO Radio. Jearlyn is also known as a member of the internationally acclaimed R&B and Gospel group, The Steele Family Singers.
Maria Regan Gonzalez, Mayor of Richfield
The panel will be moderated by Richfield Mayor Maria Regan Gonzalez. In 2018, Mayor Regan Gonzalez made history when she became the first Latinx mayor in Minnesota!

Host Committee
Hosts: Kate Bryant | Barb Davis | Fran Davis | Emma Faris | Kim Isenberg |
Mary Lenard | Melissa Rahn | Luchelle Stevens | Susan Thompson | Lucia Watson |
Co-Hosts: David Aafedt | Babette Apland | Maureen Beck | Laura Bishop | Camille Burke |
Teddy Gesell | Karen Hudson | Brigette Mathiason | Erin Murphy |Elizabeth Olson |
Liz Peter | Davis Senseman | Tracy Singleton & Birchwood Cafe | Julie Strother |
Sponsors: Jeannette Cleland | Sarah Dodge | Seanne Falconer | Jessi Held |
Kathy Heltzer | Jean Housh | Ashleigh Leitch | Cara Letofsky | Beth Lokken |
Alice Melton | Kathy Murphy | Cheryl Olseth | Alana Petersen | Norm Rickeman |
Susan Smoluchowski | Natalie Volin Lehr | Bonnie Westlin |

*Host Committee in formation*


Dec 04 2019


7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

More Info



Du Nord Cocktail Room
2610 E 32nd St | Minneapolis, MN 55406

Next Event

Pin It on Pinterest